L'ART Magazine

L'ART Magazine

Solange Knowles shares ‘Seventy States’ project at Tate Modern

August 31, 2017 | D&L

Solange Knowles Ferguson will have her latest project, ‘Seventy States’, shared at Tate Modern, to coincide with their Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power, exhibition.

The digital, interactive dossier will include a selection of films, that will be projected by the museum, as part of their Uniqlo Late series.

Created as a one off digital display, Solange’s work will demonstrate the exploration of visual language, showcasing exclusive unreleased performance pieces and concepts from music videos, such as ‘Cranes in the Sky’ and Don’t Touch My Hair’.

Those in attendance can also expect to see an original performance of ‘We Sleep In Our Clothes’, of which the score was created by Solange herself.

“I wanted to create a specific scenography through movement and landscape to communicate my states of process through this record,” she said of the project. “I decided to do this through a visual language.”

The one off display was completed in collaboration with Carlota Guerra, and directed by Alan Del Rio Ortiz.

See more here.

In other Solange news, she will direct SZA’s next music video, and has also announced a benefit concert for the people of Texas, following the natural disaster in her home state.

Image Source: Purple PR